

URBANA SCHOOL DISTRICT #116 BOARD OF EDUCATION STUDY SESSION AGENDA JEAN F. BURKHOLDER ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE CENTER 205 North Race St. Urbana, IL 61801 Tuesday, June 4, 2019 7:30 p.m. www.usd116.org

The mission of Urbana School District 116, a multi-cultural community committed to educational excellence, is to ensure that all learners acquire knowledge, develop skills, and build character to achieve personal greatness and help create a better global society, by providing innovative, comprehensive programs, respecting individual learning styles and cultural differences, and fostering caring and nurturing relationships, while engaging each student, every family and the entire community.

Mr. John H. Dimit, President	Ms. Anne Hall, Vice-President
Ms. Ruth Ann Fisher, Secretary	Ms. Brenda Carter, Member
Ms. Tori Exum, Member	Ms. Peggy Patten, Member
Mr. Paul Poulosky, Member	Ms. Lori Johnson, Board Recording Secretary
Dr. Preston L. Williams, Jr., Interim Superintendent	

The Board of Education will be hosting a reception from 7:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m. to show their appreciation to **Dr. Preston L. Williams, Jr., Ms. Jean Korder, and Ms. Gayle Jeffries,** for their continued service to the USD116 students, staff, families and community.

- 1.0 CALL TO ORDER
- 2.0 ROLL CALL
- 3.0 ADDITIONS, CORRECTIONS AND MODIFICATIONS OF AGENDA
- 4.0 CITIZENS STATEMENTS
- 5.0 CALL FOR EXECUTIVE MEETING/SESSION (After current meeting)
- 6.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA
- 7.0 COMMENDATIONS/RECOGNITIONS

ARAMARK Recognition

The Board of Education and administrators would like to recognize ARAMARK for the outstanding service they have provided the Urbana School District 116 for over 25 years.

Employee Recognition

Dr. Preston L. Williams, Jr., will recognize Mr. Randy Ashman, Acting Director of Facilities.

8.0 ADMINISTRATIVE BRIEFINGS AND REPORTS

8.1 Youth Assessment Center Memorandum of Understanding

Linda Gibbens, Director of Grant Programs, will present for a first read, a Memorandum of Understanding between USD116 and the Youth Assessment Center. Approval will be requested during the June 18, 2019 business meeting.

8.2 Integra Report Presentation

Carol Baker, Chief Financial Officer, will facilitate a discussion with BKD (Amy Russell and Julia Mast), via phone about an anonymous fraud and ethics hotline.

8.3 UPTV Broadcasting Services Inter-Governmental Agreement

The Board of Education will receive an inter-governmental agreement for review between City of Urbana and USD116, for UPTV broadcasting services. Approval will be requested during the June 18, 2019 business meeting.

8.4 <u>Recruitment and Retention Update</u>

Gayle Jeffries, Interim Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources, and Larry Simmons, Recruitment and Retention Specialist, will give the Board of Education an update on the District's Recruitment and Retention efforts.

8.5 Acceleration Program Update

Jean Korder, Interim Assistant Superintendent of Student Learning, Yavonnda Smith, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, and Todd Taylor, Assistant Superintendent for Student Services, will provide a brief update on implementation of acceleration law and policy during the 2018-2019 school year.

8.6 Naming Committee Report

Todd Taylor, Assistant Superintendent for Student Services, will present the recommendation of the naming committee charged with honoring Sandy Cooper, former principal at Thomas Paine Elementary School. Approval of recommendation will be requested during the June 18, 2019 business meeting.

8.7 Nancy Thies Marshall Mural at Yankee Ridge

Approval for the contract services from Natalie Bready, to paint the Nancy Thies Marshall Mural on the north wall in the Yankee Ridge Elementary School gymnasium.

9.0 POLICY REVIEW

10.0 ACTION ITEMS consent/individual)

10.1 <u>Personnel Items</u>

Approval of various personnel items will be requested.

11.0 STUDY TOPICS

11.1 <u>Elementary Building Plans Update</u>

The principals below will present information and answer questions regarding updates to the 2018-2019 school improvement plans.

Adriana Ochoa (Spencer Landsman) – Leal Elementary School Christina Cail-Lewandowski – ML King Elementary School Delores Lloyd – Thomas Paine Elementary School Jennifer Heinhorst – Flossie Wiley Elementary School Danielle Jackson – Dr. Preston L. Williams Jr. Elementary School Brian Anderson – Yankee Ridge Elementary School

12.0 CALL FOR FUTURE SPECIAL/EXECUTIVE MEETINGS

13.0 SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

- 14.0 BOARD'S REPORT
- 15.0 ADJOURNMENT

District Summer Hours

June 10th – July 26th Monday – Thursday: 7:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Friday: Closed

Centralized Registration:

July 30th: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. July 31st: 8:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.