Urbana School District #116
Urbana School District #116 recognizes 2019 Unsung Heroes

Urbana School District #116 recognizes 2019 Unsung Heroes

Urbana School District #116 (USD #116) recognized outstanding employees as Unsung Heroes during The District’s board meeting on Tuesday, May 21 at 7 p.m.

Since 2008, USD #116 has recognized District employees who go above and beyond their job requirements to help students and families in The District. The yearly award highlights any individual working for USD #116 who exemplifies the commitment to the betterment of the USD #116 community. These individuals are nominated each year at the beginning of May and announced and rewarded by the Board of Education later that month. The Board awards two individuals from each school, program and administrative office.

The 2019 USD #116 Unsung Heroes are as follows:

Adelaide Placido | Alejandro Fradkin | Amy Dennis | Andrea Jackson | Anthonella Banaciny | Barbie Price | Becky Scott | Billy Young | Brian West | Candace Ziegler | Chuck Burger | Clinae Campbell | Cynthia Howie | Darcy Silver | Deandre Henderson | Debra Henry | Donna Epps | Douglas Brown | Elizabeth Nieto | Emily Aguilar | Gina Keller | Gloretha Brown | Graciela Rosales | Heather Dunn | Jalisa Huckabee | Jerry Moreland | Jessica Brown | Joanna Davison | Kaelin Sanders | Katheryn Plotner | Kevin Floress | Kim Mackinson | Kori McCullough | Lexus McMillion | Libby Spannagel | Lillian Moreales | Linda Murphy | Martha Churukian | Melissa Mandra | Melissa Watson | Linda Corbett | Nohemi Campos | Owen Rivas | Rachel Sassine | Rachel Somers | Rosario Masiunas | Sara Roskowic | Shalonda Pelmore | Sharon Johnson | Sheana Bryant | Susan Behrensmeyer | Susan Miller | Sylvia Ortiz | Tamara Butler | Tina Giamberdino | VaShaun Wilson | Zachary Utley


During the May 21 meeting, each hero was awarded and given a certificate, an Unsung Hero mug and a statue. Board of Education members also used the time to express their gratitude for the outstanding work of the award-winning employees. The District plans to continue awarding its exceptional employees as the years progress.

Author: Kameron Williams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *