Nominations for the Dr. Amberg Endowed Chair are being accepted

It is time again to nominate Urbana teachers for the Gene Amberg Excellence in Teaching Endowed Chair.  The nomination deadline is Friday, April 7, 2017 by 4:00pm.  Nomination packet information is attached below.

Dr. Gene Amberg (Ph.D.) began his career in public education in 1972 as an elementary school teacher in St. Louis, Missouri.  He served as superintendent of Urbana School District #116 from 1992 until his retirement in 2007.  In 2003, the Champaign-Urbana Schools Foundation Gene Amberg Excellence in Teaching Endowed Chair was established to honor Dr. Amberg’s leadership and dedication to children and educators throughout his career.  Every three years, an Urbana School District #116 teacher is chosen to receive the Endowed Chair award.  This recognition comes with a monetary award from the Endowment held by CUSF.

Nominations may be submitted by:  a teacher (for either themselves or another), a student (either current or former), a USD #116 parent, or a district administrator.  Additional criteria and information can be found in the nomination packet below.

Previous award winners for the Amberg Excellence in Teaching Endowed Chair are:

  • Alexis Jones (05-06, 06-07, 07-08)
  • Louis Beuschlein and Elaine Harmon (co-recipients) (07-08, 08-09, 09-10)
  • Daniel Bechtel (11-12, 12-13, 13-14)
  • Sally Thompson (14-15, 15-16, 16-17)

Dr. Gene Amberg Excellence in Teaching Endowed Chair nomination packet (PDF)